Backups might be a good thing after all…

Seems after a bunch of years of chugging along, my hard drive is on its last legs. Rebooted my computer only to be greeted by a message saying that my home partition could not be mounted due to errors. Ran a file system check that did find errors but could not repair them. I managed to rescue a few MP3-files and some documents, but about 50 gigs of data is lost never to be seen again. Awesome!

The suckiest thing about it is that since it’s a Seagate drive, I’m pretty sure it’s still under warranty (Seagate has a 5 year warranty on hard drives) but I can’t remember where I bought it and I have no receipt to show.

At least our kitchen is clean…

2 Responses to Backups might be a good thing after all…

  1. ds3k says:

    Hmpf. Yes that would work. Or I could have just used the little script I wrote to do backups instead of being a dumbass and just writing it and then not using it.

    I might try to build an actual time machine to travel back and slap me straight.

Leave a Reply

